mac un-cheese

13 Jun

Most of you probably don’t know that I have been toying with the idea of being vegan for about a month now. Yes, vegan. I’m aware that there is a stereotype that is associated with being vegan. And most people raise their eyebrows at the mere THOUGHT of it when I say that I am in fact, mostly vegan. But I’ve really come across some life changing information, people and conversations that have led me to not only cut A LOT of different things out of my diet, but to completely change the way I think and approach food.

And I’ve never felt better in my entire life.

I’ve pretty much cut out all cheese, eggs, milk, and meat. I don’t even cook with these ingredients hardly anymore. And I could totally fill you in on all the reasons why I am doing this and I’m sure we could have a lengthy conversation about all the different controversies about the food industry or ethical reasons why we should or shouldn’t eat meat or we could probably even bring the government into the conversation too. There’s a LOT to talk about on the topic.

At the end of the day, how we all choose to eat is a personal decision, isn’t it?

So aside from gaining a wealth of knowledge that frankly, has scared the crap out of me, I also am just choosing to eat consciously. Whenever I approach a meal now, I really have to think about and decide what I’m going to put into my body. Have I gone exactly an entire month without eating ANY dairy or ANY meat? No. There is room for flex in my diet and in the way I’m choosing to eat. But I am mostly vegan these days and it really, really agrees with me.

So I feel awesome.

If you want more information about why I’m eating this way, let’s go to coffee. Call me. It’s too long to type. Even though I’m sure I’ll write about pieces of it from time to time. But this is almost it for now so let’s go grab something at Starbucks and I’ll chat your face off about all that I’ve learned.

SO. Since we are eating different, I’m constantly looking for new recipes that are similar to what we used to eat. And by similar I mean recipes that are super easy, don’t take a TON of time and that taste good. I still don’t have hours and hours and hours to cook in my kitchen. And even if I did have time, lets be honest, I still wouldn’t be a gourmet chef.

My sister and brother-in-law have joined us in eating vegan and she found this awesome recipe. We LOVED this meal so I had to share it here. And the last time I shared a recipe was these French Dip Sandwiches in February and while, these are very, very yummy, kind of activate my gag reflex now at the thought of them.

This is macaroni and cheese with no cheese or dairy at all. Hence the name ‘Mac Un-Cheese’. Ha. I was a little hesitant at the thought of what this might taste like, but it was SO good. And it was 100% vegan. We served it with meatless ‘chicken tenders’ on the side and the biggest salad ever full of vegetables like brocolli, snap peas, carrots, cherry tomatos etc. YUM.

If you are vegan, vegetarian or even just incorporating ‘Meatless Mondays’ into your household, you gotta try this recipe. It was SO easy and SO good.

Ingredients 

– 1 lb (16 oz) pasta of your choice. I used elbow macaroni.

– 2 cups vanilla soy/rice milk

– 2 Tbsp soy margarine

– 2 Tbsp vegan mayonnaise (such as Vegenaise or Nayonaise)*

– 1 cup nutritional yeast

– 1 tsp turmeric

– 1/4 tsp ground sage

– 1 tsp salt

– 3/4 tsp ground pepper

– 1/2 tsp garlic powder

Directions

1. Cook pasta and drain

2. In a large bowl, combine pasta and all other ingredients.

3. Mix thoroughly and enjoy!

*Optional, but recommended for creamier meal

Mix in steamed veggies too for a variety if you want! This meal had so much flavor!

4 Responses to “mac un-cheese”

  1. troze June 14, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    Congratulations! I’ve toyed with the idea, too, but I *love* cheese and could never, ever give it up. Real cheese – because I consider myself a connoisseur 🙂 And, even thinking in terms of compassionate eating, I don’t think cheese is too cruel if bought from artisans raising their cows on small farms, humanely. Anyway…

    I would imagine you are aware of Isa Chandra Moskowitz. http://www.theppk.com/ She is awesome. And she truly wrote *the* book on vegan cooking. She has a blog. I enjoy it and thought you might, too, if you haven’t stumbled across her yet.

    God Bless!

    • jesswilliams June 14, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      Thank you so much! I actually don’t know about her, so I’m DEFINITELY going to check her out! Her blog looks awesome, so thank you!! I definitely don’t think cheese is cruel either, as long as it’s handled well and they haven’t added anything to it. Which some are doing these days. BUT I only really gave up cheese so I could loose weight hahah because I definitely love cheese too! But I want the baby weight to be gone! 🙂 Thanks so much for commenting and for the awesome resource!! xo

  2. Jen Stamps June 14, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    If you can eat vegan and feel/be healthy, then do it! I believe that we are all different. Vegan definitely works really well for some! I’m not vegan, but I am dairy free, so I understand how difficult it can be to make things without dairy. I have a really awesome pancake recipe that’s gluten free and vegan! http://runjenhrun.blogspot.com/2010/10/fruity-pancakes.html

    • jesswilliams June 14, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      Jen! I made pancakes tonight and I didn’t know where to start to make them vegan! I did the best I could, but you read my mind!! 😉 Thanks for the support! I agree- everyone is different and you have to find what works for you!! Thanks so much! xo

Leave a Reply

