french dip sandwiches

9 Feb

I’ve sort of started making it a habit to cook most nights of the week. I’ve FINALLY gotten this area of our lives under control enough to be able to do this for my family. What a relief too, because it stressed me out to eat out as much as we did. Now, I’m no Martha Stewart and we don’t eat the fanciest of foods, but it’s gotta be better than take out, right?

I hope so.

I’m always looking for very easy recipes that are affordable. Like I said, we don’t eat fancy foods, I don’t like to cook with weird ingredients, and to top it off I’m still learning how to cook well! I’m not one of those people that can pull three items out of my pantry and turn it into an amazing feast. I envy people like that, in the best way possible. So I’m always looking for easy things to cook but that are really scrumptious too! We don’t eat fancy, but we DO like GOOD food.

I have quickly become OBSESSED (understatement) with the website called Our Best Bites. Oh gosh. Do they have amazing food and recipes there! And they are coming out with a cookbook shortly here and I CAN NOT WAIT to get my hands on it! Everything I’ve made from this site has been simple and has turned out well. Even Jason asks for some of these meals each week, which is a new experience for me! All of our marriage he hasn’t ever really ASKED for certain things that I cook. So that’s been fun and exciting for me!

I made these French Dip Sandwiches for the first time a couple weeks ago and they were a total hit. Jason was even talking about them the next day! So it’s safe to say that I’ve made them again and that they are on our regular ‘menu’ rotation. This is a crockpot recipe and takes virtually no time at all to throw it in and let it cook all day. And it’s definitely worth the wait for dinner time to roll around. So, make sure you invite some company over when you make these yummy sandwiches because you’ll definitely want to share them! I served them with these homemade french fries which are even EASIER to make.

Now I’m hungry.

Ingredients

– 1 2.5-3 lb. beef roast (you can use a frozen roast if you want)
– 2 Tbsp. olive oil
– salt and pepper
– 2 1-ounce packages dry onion soup mix
– 2 c. water
– 2 cans beef broth
– 6-8 large buns (or more…6 would be VERY generous servings!)
– Swiss, provolone, or mozzarella cheese, shredded or sliced

Directions

1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat and rub roast with salt and pepper.

2. When very hot, carefully place roast in pan and sear on all sides. You’re not cooking the meat, you’re just browning it quickly on all sides to add flavor and seal in the juices.

3. Place in crockpot and sprinkle with onions soup mix. Pour water and beef broth over roast.

4. Cook 8-10 hours on low or cook 4-5 hours on high and another 3-4 hours on low. It’s hard to screw this part up; basically, the longer it cooks, the more tender it will be. But you know it’s done when you pop a fork in it and the meat just falls apart. When meat is ready, shred with a fork.

5. Place meat in crusty rolls. Top with cheese and broil open-faced in the oven or toaster oven for a few minutes, until bread is golden and cheese is melty. And don’t even think about walking away–things can go from lightly-toasted to on fire within a matter of seconds when you’re using your broiler.

6. Ladle juices into small cups for dipping and enjoy!

** I got this recipe directly of OurBestBites.com.

10 Responses to “french dip sandwiches”

  1. Sarah February 9, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Ummmmm hello Sunday dinner for us!!! Yummmmm Thanks for the great recipe idea! I just printed it!

    • jesswilliams February 9, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      You are SO welcome! It’s soooo yummy!! You’ll have to let me know how you like it!

  2. underestimatedmom February 9, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    This is going to be added to my grocery list next week 🙂

    • jesswilliams February 9, 2011 at 8:22 pm #

      Awesome! I hope you love it as much as I do! 🙂

  3. Christine February 10, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    I would say about 90% of the recipes I make on a regular basis are from OBB! French dip is definitely one of our family favs! 🙂

    • jesswilliams February 11, 2011 at 7:43 am #

      I didn’t know you used OBB! I’ve started using it ALL the time. We had burgers and those fries last night. YUM.

  4. Sara Kelley February 11, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Thanks for posting Jess! I’ve been trying to make monthly meal plans (believe me typically I came home from work and ask what’s for dinner) so this meal planning thing is new for me. But I’ll add this to my March meal plan.

    BTW..I visited Scottsdale Moms Blog & found a highly suggested recipe called Stetson Salad that is super good & healthy

    • jesswilliams February 11, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      You’re so welcome lady! I love meal planning- you’re doing awesome and you’ll love this meal! xo

  5. samantha February 11, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I’m stealing this.
    Thanks.
    Bye

    • jesswilliams February 11, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

      You bet! 😉

Leave a Reply

