my little fishy

8 Jul

DSC09218I have figured out the water dilemma! Well, Jason and I figured it out together.

I think I have mentioned before that Cruz hasn’t really like the water. I didn’t really know what to make of it because he loves baths. But whenever we could put him into a pool of any kind, he would just cry and cry and cry.

Great, I would think, I have the only kid in history that is not going to like to swim.

I am aware that that is an exaggeration, but I really hope that he likes to be around water! We live in the desert and the only thing to do in the summer is go to water parks and BBQ’s- all of which involve water.

So we started to try new things. We would inch, and I mean inch, him into the water slowly because we thought it was a temperature thing. We brought bath toys because we thought maybe he’d associate it with bath time and realize that it is actually a lot of fun! We tried making sure that he wasn’t scared in the water because I thought maybe the pool was just so gigantic to him that it was overwhelming.

Then- then, a friend of mine gave me a couple of her swim diapers to try. I have been avoiding purchasing them because it is a rip off. They are so expensive and you get approximately 4 diapers for thirty bucks.

I am aware that that is an exaggeration as well, but you catch where I am going with this. They are expensive and we are trying to pay our bills. I didn’t think it would matter- you see kids all the time in their regular diapers in the pool and it’s not a big deal. So I didn’t think it was either.

I thought I would try to put him in them since a couple were given to us and just see if it made a difference.

And it made ALL the difference!

He LOVES the pool. We take him all the time now and he is happy as a clam in the pool and even tries to blow bubbles with his face in the water! So I had to cave and go buy the diapers that are kind of a rip off, but it’s worth it because now we don’t have to stay indoors for the entire summer.

I actually found a good deal on them. I bought Huggies brand at Walmart and I had a coupon. It only cost me $8.

I can afford that if it’s going to get my little man outside and enjoying life!

6 Responses to “my little fishy”

  1. Jen Hardina July 8, 2009 at 8:12 am #

    Can I just say, first, that you have the cutest family ever! Before little Cruz I always told you that you and Jason were the cutest couple ever, well…now you’re officially the cutest family ever! 😉

    I read your entry earlier on trouble-shooting…sounds like you’re actually quite good at it! Keep trying new things to see if Cruz will adapt to them. I’m so glad you figured out how to get him enjoying the pool. It would be a long summer in the valley of the sun with no swimming pool!

    Also- totally awesome you found the diapers so cheap! I think it’s so sad how they rip parents off with diapers…they were them once people, it’s shouldn’t cost that much!!!

    Hope you are having a fabulous day! 🙂

    • jesswilliams July 8, 2009 at 10:49 am #

      Aw thanks Jenny!! We love that little guy, that’s for sure! 🙂 Yes, diapers can be cheap if you look in the right places… We spend, probably no more than $30 a month on diapers b/c I buy the Value brand at Fry’s. I’m not a brand name snob when the generic ones work just fine haha! Hope you’re having a great day too!

  2. lucasfam July 8, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    That is awesome Jess!! :O) I’m glad he’s been enjoying the pool now!! Have a blessed day!
    ~Amber

    • jesswilliams July 8, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

      Thanks so much Amber!! We went to the pool today and he continues to do great! I’m stoked that that was the issue and that he doesn’t actually hate the water!! HAve a great day!

  3. amberrose July 9, 2009 at 8:22 am #

    Oh what a cutie Cruz is!! I’m sooo loving his belly!!:)

    • jesswilliams July 9, 2009 at 10:28 am #

      Isn’t it hysterical?? I don’t know why I worry about whether or not he eats- this kid has got some serious reserves! lol!!

Leave a comment